//
you're reading...
Music Video, World

Heal the World

michael_jackson_dangerous-fMore than one week has passed and the world is still talking about Michael Jackson.

Where were you when you heard about the news of his death?

 I knew about it at 7:30am on 26 June 2009 when I stepped in office. The TV set which had tuned to CNN news was reporting about MJ’s death non-stop.

I wasn’t MJ fan. I’ve never been to his concert. But I remembered he was one of the English pop stars I knew when I was in primary school days. At my time, Michael Jackson, Madonna and Pet Shop Boys were rocking the Billboard charts.

When MJ shot to fame, internet was unheard of and music was played on cassette tapes. Many Indian and Malay boys would dress like him, mimicking his moonwalk dance moves. 

Tragically, Michael lost his way becoming an oddball, a weirdo, hooked on cosmetic surgery and materialism, enamored of his ego and image, a pathetic figure yearning to be loved – a Peter Pan trapped in a man’s body.

“Dangerous” is the only collection I still keep at home. It is a laser disc. 

Heal The World, my favourite of MJ’s songs:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3MxjyGXjptQ

coverage of MJ from childhood to rehearsal before death:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MNE5fj6_VfQ

About Pamela's Online Journal

Working mother of 3 boys, loves travelling & writing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

