//
you're reading...
My feelings

Attention

Atala Butterfly Pic.1AttentionAuthor and psychologist Sam Keen said in his book To Love and Be Loved.

“Awareness involves willpower and choice. Inevitably I must pay attention to something – baseball, Bach or Barbara. Consciousness is like a flashlight that I choose to focus in a narrow or diffused beam…The price of lasting love is continuing to pay attention to a person, a place, or a work that has become familiar. Paying attention is the bedrock opposite of taking for granted, which is a major cause of death of long relationships.”

Keen’s observation is so insightful, simple yet so profound.

I followed what I learnt this couple of months and though I experienced no earth-shattering revelations, gradually, I rediscovered the joys of working with people who entrusted me with their secrets, joys and hopes. Attention to people helped me to find ways of making my work rewarding. Attention helped me read my energy level more effectively so that I was able to channel my efforts.

About Pamela's Online Journal

Working mother of 3 boys, loves travelling & writing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

