//
you're reading...
My feelings

A Woman’s Thought

It’s so nice to take leave once in a while and have a quiet moment when no one except Eni, my domestic worker is at home.

While I was having my lunch quietly, the 2 roses on the red metal cabinet caught my attention. One pink, one red – my husband, Goh bought for me, Valentine’s Day.

I could not remember when was the last time we talked about Valentine’s Day. I always think it is a day when merchants and florists hear their cash register chimming non-stop. It is a day that has been commercialized, girls who do not receive roses from someone will feel terribly insecure (I had a friend who bought herself flower on Valentine’s Day when we were in Secondary 2)….

For a long time, I told Goh “Don’t buy me flowers. It’s a waste of money.” Things change, so do my thinking.

Yesterday, Rohit asked me for recommendation of nice dining places that he can bring his wife Shefali. This Saturday is their wedding anniversary.  “What a lucky woman!”, “Rohit is a nice man!” I mean it from the bottom of my heart. I recommended some fine-dining places I have been to or had work-relationship when I organized some events in the past.  Au Jardin, Oso, Absinthe, The Garden Sentosa, The Cliff at Sentosa Resort and Spa, Flute at the Fort….none of them I have been for candle-light dinner.

I asked myself what is the romantic place I had been to. Guess what? The old coffee-shop opposite Vietnam Lao Cai Train Station. My family were at Sapa in Y2004!

I love the simplicity, peace of places…away from the rustle and bustle of city-life.

Of course not every woman thinks alike. Not necessary places fine-dining is what we call romantic places….been to some:  Lake Batur (Bali Y1995), tearing roasted chicken apart at Nice by the seaside (Y1996 honey moon because money like drying after one month of travelling, funny!),   gazing at stars from Swan Valley farm stay (Y2006), Milford Sound and peaceful stay at Christchurch Spencer Beach (New Zealand, Y2007),  quiet afternoon at Bayon (Cambodia) and dinner at Lao Cai coffeeshop.  And Singapore, a quiet morning at MacRitchie Reservoir, Sungei Buloh. Simple, quiet,  silly but sweet memories …I think to me is romantic.

Love is not a matter of counting the years … But making the years count. — Michelle Amand

About Pamela's Online Journal

Working mother of 3 boys, loves travelling & writing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

