//
you're reading...
Self-improvement

Lasik

ImageImageImageImageImageThe decision of doing Lasik is spontaneous. Before visiting the clinic, I didn’t do any fact finding. (Strangely, I only start reading up when I wrote this post). The only information I have were from 2 people who did Lasik: Kenneth & Doreen. Not much detail. They told me their satisfaction level.My bloodshot eyes invited unwanted attention. People around me expressed concern. Thanks very much for the kind intentions. Long wearing of contact lenses and long hours at computer took a toll on my eyes. It’s a lifestyle problem and my condition seemed to be deteriorating.

Wearing glasses since I was 10 years old, contact lens since I started work, visual aids become part of my life. If I don’t think about it, life still goes on as usual, status quo has caused the habit of wearing, removing contact lens as natural as eating and sleeping. I run 5 mornings a week as early as 5:30am. Putting them on contact become more important than anything else. From 5:30am to 8pm daily, minimum hours of wearing contact lens is average 15 hours. Sometimes when contact lens irritates my eye, the whole day will be spoiled.

Google knows everything so I want to know the cause of bloodshot eyes. Self-explanatory here:
http://m.nativeremedies.com/ailment/causes-of-bloodshot-eyes.html

Discomfort, it makes me look bad, tired. What about cost of making spectacles and contact lenses, cleaning solutions, etc?

Saturday, 5 October – It was rainy morning. A random thought came. Google “Lasik Singapore Paragon 13”, it’s the only information from my hairstylist Peggy Chong. She mentioned casually one day when she saw my bloodshot eyes. Peggy did Lasik 3 years ago and couldn’t remember the clinic’s name. She could remember address. Lasik Surgery Clinic (lsc) is the closest match: Paragon #13-01.

I submitted an online appointment. 3 minutes later, a female staff from lsc called me to confirm appointment. I was impressed by the fast response. I was told to lay off contact lens for 3 days before coming for evaluation to check whether I am suitable to do Lasik.

Thursday, 10th October
11:30am
I arrived at Paragon Medical Centre Level 13. The clinic is the first one on the left. I completed a form and paid a $26.75 consultation fee. Waiting time was short. A lady staff Fen brought me to a dark room with many equipment, I think there were at least 5 or 6. I went through one machine after another. But the first one is fairly uncomfortable, a ticklish feel that came with wind blown to my eyes. The rest were similar to those we saw at optical shops, mostly to see blurry to higher resolution images. Five tests.

More tests at the other room. I had to identify the letters of alphabet on the screen. After that I sat at one of the computers to see 2 videos. One is an education of eye, explaining reason of myopia, far-sightedness and technical stuff procedure of  Lasik surgery. The other video is procedure of the Lasik the dos and don’ts, precautions, etc.

After all these, it was already 1:10pm. I didn’t expect evaluation tests took a long time. Indeed educational and tests seemed thorough. Fen told me to go for lunch and return at 2pm.

While I was taking elevator, I met a couple in their early-50s. The guy started talking.

Guy: Are you coming for Lasik?

Me: Not at the moment. I come for evaluation.

Guy: Don’t need to think too long. I decided it on the spot. This Lasik is probably one of the best decisions I made in my life. Look at me now. I don’t need to wear glasses. Anyone refers you here? Tell the staff you are referred by someone to get discount. You get discount for everything, from consultation fee to surgery charges. All got discount.”

The elevator arrived at ground floor. They wished me good luck. I thanked them for the information. One minute, enough information to decide my next step.

1:40pm, lsc
A female staff led me to Dr Marc Tay, a charming middle-age guy with a Caucasian look. He seemed to be able to read people. Probably the particulars about my age, occupation, stress level at work and his years of experience were sufficient to form an impression. He told me pros and cons of Lasik, what kind of result to expect. All things not mentioned by anyone earlier and video. He said I could consider mono-vision, meaning my left eye to be corrected to be able to see objects in close range such as reading. Right eye to see far. When seeing things with both eyes, the 2 eyes compensate each other, image will be clear.

When he shook hand with me to bid farewell, I asked Dr Marc Tay, “Can I do Lasik today?” He’s happy. Obviously, which doctor  will reject a patient that decides fast. I sat down again to listen to him explaining differences in the Lasik package. There are 5, out of which 2 of them suit me.

I chose VISX Custom Wave-Front which is good for night vision. It costs $3,953.65 after $250 referral discount, $1,000 higher than standard one.

Custom or Wave-Front? (this website explains quite clear)
http://www.allaboutvision.com/visionsurgery/custom_lasik.htm

Price list here, take a look:
http://m.lsc.sg/our-packages?referrerurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.lsc.sg%2Fsite%2Fourpackages%2Fourpackages.html

What is Mono-vision correction:

This is the type of Lasik I did for my eyes: mono-vision correction.
I extracted this professional explanation from website:

– Quote –
Mono-vision correction is recommended by many Lasik surgeons for their patients aged 35 years and above who are presbyopic. The aim of mono-vision correction is to enable the patient to have a close to full range of vision with much reduced dependence on glasses for both distance and near vision. This is achieved by aiming at full or close to full correction in the – master eye and mild under-correction in the other, non-master eye.

– Unquote –

Another one thing I learnt:
Magical test (it’s fun, try it out). This eye determines which eye to see far.
To tell which is your master eye, cut a coin-sized opening in a piece of paper and hold it at arm’s length in front of you. Next, with both eyes open, look at a distant object, such as a clock on the wall, through the opening. Now, without moving the paper, alternately shut your left and your right eye. Your master eye is the eye that sees the object.

3:00pm to 4:15pm
Waiting outside the operating theatre. I put on operation gown and footwear. Nurse put eye drop in my eye. There were around 5 to 6 patients. Each took about 20 minutes. One of them, I heard, did on one eye only. Mine was 2 eyes. We couldn’t see one another. All separated by curtain.

4:30pm
My turn. I walked in the operating theatre. Dr Marc Tay was there. He put a ring around the eye he was going to operate on. The ring prevents eye from closing. Then looking at some astronomy-like image in the machine. He used something to scratch my eye, there’s no pain, just some watery thing, then I saw image from blur to clear. I guess it’s cornea. Then repeated the similar procedure with left eye. After that, I could walk out of the operating theatre. Nurse applied eye drop, put the shields to protect my eyes.

I came alone. It’s a problem to get a cab at 5pm. I waited for Fen. She took me to Paragon 2nd floor to flag a taxi. Super easy. Manageable. At this time, my eyes were tearing. For no apparent reason, I got runny nose & felt very uncomfortable.

5:30pm
I was home. Robin and Dominique helped me out of the cab. They took turns to put eye drop in my eyes. Eyes were sensitive to glare. As it was evening, the lighting in living room made me unable to open my eyes. Biting sensation.

7:30pm
I finished the herbal soup. That’s my dinner. No appetite. Quickly pop in one sleeping pill and I went to bed. Dominique pasted eyes shields after putting eye drop. One of the earliest bed time in my life. Sleeping pill is a life saver.

Friday, 11 October
5:30am
I woke up. No more pain and discomfort. My eyes can see very well. I was happy.

I didn’t wash hair and face, following instruction. I used a wet towel to wipe my face. Of course no running.

In office, from 7:30am to 1:20pm
Dr Tay said I could go to work. I took care not to strain my eyes too much. Doing more manual work than computer.

2pm, lsc
Consultation with Dr Marc Tay.
I asked a few questions. I’m not confident to produce exactly same answer as what Dr
Marc Tay said, therefore, I will not post my answer here.

My questions were
1) What is the best age to do Lasik?
2) Can I do Lasik in future?
3) What is the minimum age to do Lasik? Answer is 18 years old.
4) Will Lasik affect me when I get older? Chances of getting cateract.

Lesson learnt.

1) Take other people’s opinion with a pinch of salt.What other people experienced may not be what you will experience. Every body’s eyes are different, they are as unique as finger prints.

2) Everyone comes with own set f expectation.
My choice of mono-vision: I know there will be imperfection, doctor warned me. I know i have to compromise. If you are a perfectionist, you will be disappointed by the result. I am not. The mono-vision enables me to enjoy the best of both worlds, far-sightedness and myopia. I can’t complain much, technology hasn’t reached the level that can give perfection in cases like mine with presbyopic.

3) Determine what you want now.
For people of my age, above 40, my power has stabilized, which means the likelihood that vision deteriorate is lesser than younger patients. Does that mean you wait until 40 to do Lasik? No, it depends on what you want in life.  Like Dr Marc Tay said, if you are an aspiring young footballer, delay to correct your vision means missed opportunity. How true!

4) No pain, no gain
One small step, a giant leap to future. I will enjoy swimming more. Not having to wear the awful swimming goggles with power. So uncomfortable.

5) No hard sell
Staff from front line, to support staff to doctor, all of them are very friendly and caring. Especially Jackie and Fen. You made me felt at ease, felt at home. Emphasis in educating patient give me confidence and trust to let them handle one of the most precious assets, my eyes.

Thanks Lsc.

To get referral discount of $250, quote my name “Pamela Yeo”.

I’m not staff of the clinic, this is not an advertorial.

About Pamela's Online Journal

Working mother of 3 boys, loves travelling & writing.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Lasik

  1. Hi, how is your Lasik recovery?

    Posted by Edward | March 12, 2014, 16:45
  2. we’re actually looking for someone to share their reviews of Lasik with us, and their recovery process. Would you be keen to share more on our lasik guide?

    You can contact me at: edward1982chia@gmail.com.

    🙂

    Posted by Edward | March 12, 2014, 16:47
  3. cool do you have an email where I can contact you directly?

    Posted by Epi-LASIK Singapore | April 1, 2014, 07:54
  4. Hi Pamela, you mentioned your name as Yeo. But it shows Pamela Goh on the top. Did you change your surname?

    Posted by Benjamin | November 23, 2014, 07:45
  5. Hi there,
    How do you deal with the fear of the surgery not being successful,if there is? I’m thinking about getting lasik done! Hope I’m making the right choice. Kinda scared.

    Posted by Grace | December 19, 2015, 00:53

Leave a Reply

